Awards in the Creative Arts

The Arts Institute provides research support to faculty, staff and students in the arts. Each spring, the Arts Institute recognizes achievements and professional service along with supporting future creative endeavors and research. The call for applications and nominations is released early each fall semester with a deadline in November. The Institute offers six awards annually and one award bi-annually, amounting to approximately $86,000. The grants are divided into three categories: Arts Faculty Research, Arts Faculty and Staff Outreach and Undergraduate and Graduate Student Achievement in the Arts.

Arts Faculty Research

Arts Faculty and Staff Outreach

Undergraduate and Graduate Student
Achievement in the Arts

2017 Recipients

The 2017 Awards in the Creative Arts Ceremony will take place on Wednesday, May 9 at 5:30pm in the Wisconsin Idea Room, School of Education building

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2017 Awards in the Creative Arts!

  • Arts Institute Creative Arts Award
    T.L. Solien, Art Department
  • Emily Mead Baldwin Award in the Creative Arts
    Lisa Gralnick, Art Department
    Beverly Taylor, Mead Witter School of Music
  • Edna Wiechers Arts in Wisconsin Award
    Aristotle Georgiades, Art Department
  • Joyce J. and Gerald A. Bartell Award in the Arts
    Ron Kuka, Creative Writing Program
  • David and Edith Sinaiko Frank Graduate Fellowship for a Woman in the Arts
    Allison Roberts, Art Department
    Liz Anna Kozik, Design Studies Department
  • Lyman S.V. Judson & Ellen Mackechnie Judson Student Award in the Creative Arts
    John Hallett (Graduate), Art Department
    Lyndsay Lewis (Undergraduate), Dance Department

Thank you to this year's committee: Kate Corby (chair), Dance Department; Mary Hark, Department of Design Studies; Mark Hetzler, Mead Witter School of Music; Matt Mauk (graduate student representative), Art Department.

Congratulations to the New Arts Venture Challenge finalists, who will also be recognized at the Awards in the Creative Arts on May 9:

1st Prize

  • Art En Route: Yusi Liu and Alexandra Polach

2nd Prizes

  • Cosmos: Kai Rasmussen
  • Makers and Their Tools: Tharu People: Julia Fillingame, Luisa Fernanda Garcia-Gomez and Erin E. Tenderholt
  • NO EXIT: Brittany Graham, John P. Drescher and Sruthi Suresan

Additional congratulations to The Studio's Creative Arts Awards winners:

  • Creative Arts Award for Research
    Devin McDonald
    Mackenzie Berry
  • Creative Arts Award for Service
    Jasmine Kiah (with Mackenzie Berry)